Skip to main content

Lincoln Road Board (1864-1911)


Parallel Names

  • Prebbleton Road Board


Previously broken into the East and West Lincoln Road Boards in 1864 the Lincoln Road Board was formed, with the Canterbury Provincial Road Board Ordinance 1863. Sometimes referred to as the Prebbleton Road Board as their offices were located in Prebbleton. The Road Board amalgamated with the Templeton Road Board in 1911 to become Paparua County Council, via the Selwyn County Subdivision Act 1910.

The Paparua County Council in turn amalgamated with Christchurch City Council in 1989. With new legislation in 1968 the Paparua County Council areas of Sockburn and Hornby, were elevated to County Boroughs that sat within Paparua County Council and then went on to become District Community Councils in 1974, along with Halswell. They formed the Riccarton/Wigram Community Board that was established upon the 1989 amalgamation. See also Halswell Domain Board, Prebbleton Domain Board.

Papers Past, Globe, 10 May 1876 "Road Boards".