Christchurch City Council. Electricity Department (1903-1920)
Dates
- Existence: 1903 - 1920
Biography
In 1903 the Christchurch City Council established a small scale public supply of electricity. In subsequent years other local councils established similar departments. The Electricity Department was reorganised and renamed the Municipal Electricity Department in 1920.
Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:
Municipal Electricity Department: Maps and Plans
Maps and Plans of the Christchurch City Council Electricity Department, from 1920 this became the Municipal Electricity Department. Includes hydrographs of Waimakariri River, Otarama Dam, maps of Selwyn and Malvern County, maps of Canterbury (on cloth, not dated) and flood charts. Also includes some aerial photographs of the Canterbury region.
Municipal Electricity Department: Records
Records of the Christchurch City Council Electricity Department, from 1920 this became the Municipal Electricity Department. Includs contracts issues (1918–1957), committee reports and minutes (1919–1982), newspaper cuttings (1915–1983), reports (1905–1980), annual reports and statement of accounts.